Stream: Tame Impala’s new album Currents

Currents, the new record from Australia’s Tame Impala, is due out July 17th on Interscope. Ahead of the official release of the hotly-anticipated follow-up to 2012’s Lonerismthe entire thing is streaming below via NPR.

The album marks a new shift for the Kevin Parker-led psych-rock outfit. Press releases for have referenced everything from hip-hop to Michael Jackson’s Thriller, “fried 70s funk” to Daft Punk’s Discovery. For Parker, the decision to switch things up came from a desire to open up the listening experience to a more communal feeling.

“I wanted to make something that from the sound of it could be down at the club,” he told NME. “I just realised that I’d never heard Tame Impala played somewhere with a dancefloor, or where people were dancing. Listening to it was very much kind of a headphone, solitary experience. Which is cool, but I’ve moved on from that. I’ve always loved listening to music on my own, but there’s another side of me that is just fascinated by… like Goa trance for example – just a rave on a beach in India, you know? Where there’s not an artist to be worshipped, just someone that’s spinning the music, and it’s just this free flowing continuous energy. It was a front that I wanted to conquer, because I had conquered the solitary.”

Currents’ release was preceded by singles “Let It Happen”, “Cause I’m a Man”“Eventually”, and “Disciples”. Listen to the entire 13-track effort below:

http://www.npr.org/player/embed/420832435/421813915

Currents Tracklist:

01. Let It Happen

02. Nangs

03. The Moment

04. Yes I’m Changing

05. Eventually

06. Gossip

07. The Less I Know the Better

08. Past Life

09. Disciples

10. ‘Cause I’m A Man

11. Reality In Motion

12. Love/Paranoia

13. New Person, Same Old Mistakes

Leave a Reply

